Port Stanley Foodland
Remax Sales Richard and Helen Haddow
Molly Maid
Port Stanley Cat Rescue
Elgin Chrysler Dodge Jeep
Central Elgin Municipal Council
  • - 27 available.

Port Stanley News RSS Feed  Sports Highlights OHA Announces 2017-18 Officials Awards

Ontario Hockey Association
OHA Announces 201718 Officials Awards

Sebastian, Baker and Wilmot are named 2017-18 Recipients

Cambridge, ON, Monday, May 7, 2018 – This week the Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) is announcing the recipients of the 2017-18 OHA Awards and today we are pleased to get things started by announcing the winners of the 2017-18 OHA Officials Awards. The OHA Top Referee Prospect is Ty Sebastian, the OHA Top Linesman Prospect is Tyson Baker, and Jesse Wilmot is the recipient of the OHA Officiating Award of Excellence.


Ty Sebastian (Brussels, Ontario) is 24 years old and began Officiating in 2009-10 for Blyth Minor Hockey. Sebastian joined the OHA Officiating Staff in the 2015-16 season and was promoted to the position of Referee at the start of the 2017-18 season. A former player in the OHA, having played Jr. C in 2013-14 with the Alvinston Flyers (now the Petrolia Flyers), Sebastian was part of the Officiating crew of this year’s GOJHL Conference Finals. Away from the rink, Ty Sebastian is an accomplished Fastball player and has been named to the Canadian Men’s National Team Athlete Pool for 2018.


Tyson Baker (Thorndale, Ontario) is 23 years old and played junior hockey in the OHA from 2011 to 2016 in the GOJHL with St. Marys and Stratford before starting as an official in 2016 with the Stratford Referee Association in 2016. This year Baker joined the OHA Officiating Staff as a Linesman and was also selected to join the Ontario Hockey League (OHL) and the American Hockey League (AHL). Baker has had a busy and successful year, working different levels throughout the regular season and during the playoffs, culminating with the OHA Sutherland Cup Semifinals, the OHL Semifinals and a number of games in the AHL Playoffs.


The OHA is very pleased to award Jesse Wilmot (Hamilton, Ontario) with the 2017-18 OHA Officiating Award of Excellence. Wilmot, 34 years old, started Officiating minor hockey in 2000-01, eventually joining the OHA Officiating Staff in 2006-07 and in 2013-14 he was promoted to the position of Referee. Over the years Wilmot has worked in all four OHA Leagues as a Linesman and as a Referee, including as a Referee for numerous OJHL Buckland Cup Finals, GOJHL Sutherland Cup Finals, PJHL Schmalz Cup Finals and ACH Robertson Cup Finals. He has also worked the RBC Cup, Dudley-Hewitt Cup, Allan Cup and OUA Finals as a Referee; and in the AHL, OHL and the CHL Memorial Cup as a Linesman. Internationally Wilmot has worked as a Linesman at many of the top events, including: IIHF World Championships, IIHF World Junior Championships, and the Winter Olympic Games in Sochi.

The remaining 2017-18 OHA Awards winners will be announced this week and recipients will formally receive their Awards at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto on Friday, June 1, 2018.

Monday: Officials Awards
Tuesday: Top Prospects
Wednesday: Trainer & Coach of the Year Awards
Thursday: Players of the Year Awards (Sr. AAA, Jr. A, Jr. B, Jr. C)
Friday: BJ Monro and Donald Sanderson Awards

About the OHA

The Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) was founded on November 27, 1890 and is the governing body for the majority of Junior and Senior Hockey in the Province of Ontario. The OHA is a Member Partner of the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF), one of thirteen Provincial and Regional Branches of Hockey Canada. The OHA consists of three Junior Hockey leagues, Junior A - Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL); Junior B - Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League (GOJHL); Junior C - Provincial Junior Hockey League (PJHL); and one Senior Hockey league, Senior AAA - Allan Cup Hockey (ACH). For more information about the OHA, please visit: www.ohahockey.ca.

Last Updated: Monday, 07 May 2018 12:15:42 PM EST

Follow Us

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 | | Welcome Guest !

Copyright © 2004 - 2019 Port Stanley News.com All Rights Reserved ISSN 1718-8695