Port Stanley Foodland
Remax Sales Richard and Helen Haddow
Molly Maid
Port Stanley Cat Rescue
Elgin Chrysler Dodge Jeep
Port Stanley 3 Bedroom Vacation Rental
  • - 27 available.

Port Stanley News RSS Feed  Sports Highlights Jack McBain Named OHA'S 2017-18 B.J. Monro Memorial Award Recipient

Ontario Hockey Association
Jack McBain Named OHA'S 201718 BJ Monro Memorial Award Recipient

Cambridge, ON, Friday, May 11, 2018 – This week the Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) has been announcing the recipients of the 2017-18 OHA Awards and today we are very pleased to announce that the recipient of the 2017-18 B.J. Monro Memorial Award is Jack McBain of the Toronto Jr. Canadiens from the Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL).

B.J. MONRO MEMORIAL AWARD – Jack McBain, Toronto Jr. Canadiens (OJHL)

Jack McBain (Toronto, Ontario) has been a member of the OJHL's Toronto Jr. Canadiens for the past two seasons and is the highest ranked OHA player for the 2018 NHL Entry Draft. McBain was ranked 35th among North American Skaters in NHL Central Scouting's Final Rankings.

The 6'3" 196 pound forward tallied 58 points on 21 goals and 37 assists in 48 games last season for the Jr. Canadiens, improving in every area from 2016-17 when he had 41 points from 13 goals and 28 assists in 42 games. In addition to playing for the Jr. Canadiens, McBain also suited up for Canada's National Men's Under 18 Team at the 2018 IIHF U18 World Championship in Chelyabinsk Russia where he had 3 points in 5 games.

He was also a member of Team East at the 2017 World Junior A Challenge, Team OJHL Coffey at the 2017 Eastern Canada Cup All-Star Challenge and played for Team East at the 2018 CJHL Top Prospects Game.

McBain turned 18 in January and in April he was voted the OJHL's Top Prospect by a panel of league general managers and media representatives; and was named an OJHL 1st Team All Prospect. After weighing a number of options, Jack McBain has committed to Boston College (NCAA Division 1 - Hockey East) for 2018-19.

Jr. Canadiens' head coach Jeff Angelidis described McBain as a great young man and a great player, adding, "He'll go to Boston College as a real student of the game. He won't struggle to adjust to that level. His game elevates to those around him. It should be seamless."

McBain certainly has hockey in his blood, his father Andrew McBain, was a first-round selection, eighth overall, of the Winnipeg Jets in 1983. Andrew played 608 games in the NHL with the Jets, Pittsburgh Penguins, Vancouver Canucks and Ottawa Senators. Jack would love to follow his father's footsteps and play in the NHL, and that process may very well start on June 22nd and 23rd in Dallas, Texas at the 2018 NHL Entry Draft.


The B.J. Monro Memorial Award, named in honour of the late OHA player, was donated to the Ontario Hockey Association by the Monro family in memory of their late son B.J., who was a member of the Cobourg Cougars. B.J. was suddenly taken from his family and friends during the 1993-94 season when he was involved in a tragic car accident during his club's playoffs. At the time, B.J. was ranked as an underage player in the second round of the OHL draft. The B.J. Monro Memorial Award is presented annually to the OHA player who is the highest ranked individual according to the NHL Central Scouting List for the current season.

Recipients of the B.J. Monro Memorial Award:

  • 2017-18 Jack McBain, Toronto Jr. Canadiens
  • 2016-17 Nick Campoli, North York Rangers
  • 2015-16 Matthew Cairns, Georgetown Raiders
  • 2014-15 William Reilly, North York Rangers
  • 2013-14 Jake Walman, Toronto Jr. Canadiens
  • 2012-13 Matt Buckles, St. Michaels Buzzers
  • 2011-12 Devin Shore, Whitby Fury
  • 2010-11 Zach Hyman, Hamilton Red Wings
  • 2009-10 Julian Melchiori, Newmarket Hurricanes
  • 2008-09 Brandon Pirri, Georgetown Raiders
  • 2007-08 Corey Trivino, Stouffville Spirit
  • 2006-07 Scott Freeman, Bowmanville Eagles
  • 2005-06 Thomas Battani, Petrolia Jets
  • 2004-05 Zack Torquato, Stratford Cullitons
  • 2003-04 Justin Azevedo, Chatham Maroons
  • 2002-03 Victor Oreskovich, Milton Ice Hawks
  • 2001-02 Wes O'Neill, Chatham Maroons
  • 2000-01 Nathan Horton, Thorold Blackhawks
  • 1999-00 Justin McCutcheon, Brampton Capitals
  • 1998-99 Mike Cammalleri, Bramalea Blues
  • 1997-98 Jay Harrison, Oshawa Legionnaires
  • 1996-97 Preston Mizzi, Newmarket 87's
  • 1995-96 Kip Brennan, St. Michael's Buzzers

The 2017-18 OHA Awards recipients will receive their Awards at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto on Friday, June 1, 2018.

Monday: Officials Awards
Tuesday: Top Prospects
Wednesday: Trainer & Coach of the Year Awards
Thursday: Players of the Year Awards (Sr. AAA, Jr. A, Jr. B, Jr. C)
Friday: BJ Monro and Donald Sanderson Awards

About the OHA

The Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) was founded on November 27, 1890 and is the governing body for the majority of Junior and Senior Hockey in the Province of Ontario. The OHA is a Member Partner of the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF), one of thirteen Provincial and Regional Branches of Hockey Canada. The OHA consists of three Junior Hockey leagues, Junior A - Ontario Junior Hockey League (OJHL); Junior B - Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League (GOJHL); Junior C - Provincial Junior Hockey League (PJHL); and one Senior Hockey league, Senior AAA - Allan Cup Hockey (ACH). For more information about the OHA, please visit: www.ohahockey.ca.

Last Updated: Friday, 11 May 2018 14:22:40 PM EST

Follow Us

Tuesday, March 19, 2019 | | Welcome Guest !

Copyright © 2004 - 2019 Port Stanley News.com All Rights Reserved ISSN 1718-8695