Kettle Creek Inn
Remax Sales Richard and Helen Haddow
Molly Maid
Jeff Yurek, MPP
Elgin Chrysler Dodge Jeep
MOLLY MAID St Thomas and Port Stanley
  • - 21 available.

Port Stanley News RSS Feed  Port Stanley Sailors Jr Hockey OHA 130th Annual General Meeting & Awards Luncheon

Ontario Hockey Association
OHA 130th Annual General Meeting  Awards Luncheon

Kitchener, ON, June 18, 2019 - The 130th Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held on Saturday June 15, 2019 at the Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre in Kitchener, Ont.

The meeting was opened by OHA Chairman of the Board of Directors Tom Strauch who welcomed everyone in attendance and thanked them for coming. The AGM included representation from the governing body's Board of Directors, League Representatives, Team Delegates, the Ontario Hockey Federation (OHF), the Northern Ontario Hockey Association and the Minor Hockey Alliance of Ontario.

The 2019 OHA AGM was preceded by League meetings and the 2019 OHA Annual Awards Luncheon. A list of this year's award winners can be seen at

There were 77 voting team delegates represented and five Board Members for a total of 82 voting delegates in attendance at the AGM. The business portion of the meeting was run by Parliamentarian George Meek.

OHA Chairman Tom Strauch provided an overview of events and highlights from all four OHA Leagues (Ontario Junior Hockey League - OJHL, Greater Ontario Junior Hockey League - GOJHL, Provincial Junior Hockey League - PJHL, Allan Cup Hockey - ACH) that took place throughout the year and were included in the 2018-19 OHA Annual Report. This included the OJHL Oakville Blades OHA Buckland Cup and Dudley-Hewitt Cup wins, the GOJHL Top Prospects Games, the PJHL Prospects Day and the Stoney Creek Generals' OHA Robertson Cup victory and appearance at the Allan Cup in Lacombe, Alta.

All of the 2018-19 OHA Champions were recognized with their OHA Championship trophies and championship banners during a special video tribute for each team at the Awards Luncheon.

  • Robertson Cup Champions - Stoney Creek Generals (ACH)
  • Buckland Cup Champions - Oakville Blades (OJHL) *
  • Sutherland Cup Champions - Waterloo Siskins (GOJHL)
  • Schmalz Cup Champions - Napanee Raiders (PJHL)

The OJHL's Oakville Blades were also congratulated on winning the 2019 Dudley-Hewitt Cup, and for making a semifinals appearance at the National Junior A Championship in Brooks, Alta.

The ACH's Stoney Creek Generals were also congratulated for taking part in the Allan Cup tournament in Lacombe, Alta. The Generals made it all the way to the semifinals at the tournament.

Corrie Abrams, Mike Faulds and Doug Kennedy were announced as the recipients of the OHA Crystal Puck Award for 2018-19. The OHA Crystal Puck Award recognizes an individual or organization's outstanding achievements or contributions within the Ontario Hockey Association. Corrie Abrams, a long-time volunteer, has been the Convenor for the Tod Division of the PJHL, congratulations Corrie, well deserved. Mike Faulds, has been involved with the OJHL, the Carruthers Division of the PJHL in various capacities but more recently as statistician. Mike has always jumped at the chance to help in any way he can when the OHA has called for his assistance, a well-earned honour for Mike. Lastly, Doug Kennedy of the Kincardine Bulldogs has been instrumental in bringing the PJHL together with his efforts. Spending countless hours as a volunteer Doug is certainly a worthy recipient of the award.

Longtime official and member of the hockey community, Doug Robb, was this year's recipient of OHA Gold Stick. The Gold Stick is an order of merit in hockey awarded by the OHA for outstanding service to the game other than as a player. Such outstanding service must have been for a period of not less than 10 years of continuous duration.

Following the election of Chair and Directors, the OHA Board of Directors for the 2019-20 season are:

  • Rob Campbell – Chair
  • Mike McCarron - Director (2-year term)
  • Brent Tully - Director (1-year term)
  • Abe Fehr - Director (2-year term)
  • John Savage - Director (1-year term)
  • Arnie Lawlor - Director (2-year term)
  • Trevor Tinney - Director (1-year term)

New Chairman Rob Campbell was absent as he attended his son's graduation from Union College. OHA Interim Executive Director Scott Stevens read a message on behalf of Campbell. Campbell thanked outgoing Chairman Tom Strauch for his hard work and leadership during his tenure and stated that he is looking forward to the challenges and opportunities for the OHA that lie ahead.

The OHA would like to thank everyone who assisted in making the 2019 AGM a success, including the entire staff at the Sunbridge Hotel and Conference Centre for their incredible hospitality and support.

Last Updated: Tuesday, 18 June 2019 14:17:19 PM EST

Follow Us

Thursday, January 23, 2020 | | Welcome Guest !

Copyright © 2004 - 2020 Port Stanley All Rights Reserved ISSN 1718-8695