Port Stanley Foodland
Port Stanley News
Century 21 First Canadian Corp
Port Stanley Festival Theatre 2018 Season
Jeff Yurek, MPP
The Port Stanley Festival Theatre 2018 Playbill

Port Stanley News RSS Feed  News Jones New Elgin County Warden for 2017


Elgin County
Jones New Elgin County Warden for 2017

Central Elgin - Grant Jones was acclaimed Warden of Elgin County at a session of Elgin County Council held on December 6, 2016.

Jones, the Mayor of Southwold, was unopposed in his bid for the one-year position. He had declared his intention to seek the office at the September 13, 2016 County Council meeting.

Jones was elected to Southwold Council in 2003 and again as Deputy Mayor in 2010. He was elected Mayor of Southwold in 2014. This is Warden Jones' first full term on Elgin County Council. He first served on Council in 2014 in the absence of then Southwold Mayor James McIntyre.

Jones has represented Elgin County on the Elgin Economic Development Advisory Group and the Social/Entertainment Committee. He is a cabinet maker and a life-long Southwold resident who lives in Boxall.

Warden Jones thanked and congratulated outgoing Warden Bernie Wiehle for "a very successful year as Warden," and commended his ability to lead Council with "dignity, humour and a sense of unity."

"The role of Warden has many responsibilities and duties," said Jones. "All of which must be accomplished by Council and staff working together as a team. I promise to respect the time-honoured traditions of this office and I look forward to working to serve the great people of Elgin County. "

Jones identified the start of construction on the new Terrace Lodge and Elgin County Museum facility, the transfer of Wonderland Road, and succession planning for senior staff as priorities for 2017.

Jones also noted that Economic Development remains a priority of County Council. The County-lead Community Improvement Plan continues to see a great deal of success with a significant positive impact on the local business community.

Committee appointments for the rest of Council were approved:

  • CAO Selection Committee: Grant Jones, Dave Mennill, Bernie Wiehle
  • Dispute Resolution: Grant Jones, Paul Ens, Bernie Wiehle
  • Elgin County Museum: Sally Martyn
  • Elgin St. Thomas Public Health: Greg Currie, Dave Marr, Bernie Wiehle
  • Green Lane Community Trust: Dave Marr
  • Health Recruitment Partnership: Cameron McWilliam
  • Joint Elgin/Central Elgin Accessibility Advisory Committee: Sally Martyn
  • Rural Initiatives: Grant Jones, Paul Ens, Cameron McWilliam
  • Social/Entertainment: Dave Marr, Mike Wolfe
  • St. Thomas – Elgin Public Art Centre: Greg Currie
  • Terrace Lodge Building Committee: Grant Jones, Greg Currie, Dave Mennill, Mike Wolfe
  • Waste Management/Liaison: Committee of the Whole
  • Water Advisory Committee: Mike Wolfe

Last Updated: Wednesday, 07 December 2016 05:08:54 AM EST

Follow Us

Wednesday, November 22, 2017 | | Welcome Guest !

World's 1st Proportional Viewing News Web Site. February 5, 2008. Copyright © PortStanleyNews.com

Copyright © 2004 - 2017 Port Stanley News.com All Rights Reserved ISSN 1718-8695